East Turkistan Emblem


The National Emblem was designed by East Turkistan Independence Association (established September of 1933) and was unanimously accepted by the Parliament and Ministers of the Turkish Islamic Republic of East Turkistan on November 12, 1933. It continues to be used and is unanimously accepted by all East Turkistan and Uyghur organizations as the National Emblem of East Turkistan.

  • The 18 points that surround the crescent refers to the 18 known Turkish Empires that were established throughout history.
  • The upward facing crescent symbolizes happiness, joy, and the revival of East Turkistan and its people.
  • In the middle of the crescent are the words “In the name of Allah (God), the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful” written in a calligraphic monogram in the Arabic script. This symbolizes the piety in faith of the majority of the people of East Turkistan who are predominantly Muslim.
  • The three stars above the calligraphic monogram represent the three prominent states that were established in East Turkistan: (from left to right) the Kök Türk Khaganate (552-744), the Uyghur Khaganate (744-840), and the Kara-Khanid Khanate (840-1212).